Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Key Worker Groups

Wasn't sure which forum to post this in but I don't think its just nurseries/pre schools who have keyworker groups any more is it? I currently work in a foundation stage unit and we kind of have key worker groups (the nursery aged children are split into 3 groups for group times) but when it comes to the paper work its the teacher's responsibility. As a reception teacher I have always been lucky enough to have a classroom assistant and it never even used to enter my mind to ask her to have the same responsibilities as me including filling in Record of achievements. However, now we're set up as a FS unit I'm a bit unclear about the way thingsshould be done. Since joining the FSF it seems that a lot of you work in this way-you're responsible for a group of children and for the paperwork that comes with them-which would make sense as you know them best. My problem is that teachers are on a lot more money than support staff and it wouldn't be fair to expect them to be doing the same job. What do you think? I can't think of any other job where the boundaries of reponsibilities are so blurred-it seems that in some schools that the nursery nurses are doing equal/if not more than the teachers but that in others-like our school where many of our support staff are unqualified-the teaching assistants are just their as an added bonus if you will. Our LEA have suggested that a key worker system would be the best way of working but I'm scared of going down this track because of how it will be viewed by our support staff. Please help! :)

Zim

Hi Zim

Obviously since I work in a pre-school setting our situation is very different from yours. I am the supervisor, and staff range from the unqualified, Level 2, and Level 3 (and working towards, of course).