Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

E-profile Problems

hi everyone.... new to forum and first topic posted so hoping this works.

I am new in Reception Class and getting to grips with the Eprofile. I have been told by the (slightly unhelpful) previous YR teaching assistant that the Eprofile can only be saved and used on one computer.... this is apparently how it has always been done.

At the moment I have it saved on my classroom computer- which obviously i then cannot work on during my PPA time as cannot be in class... I am hoping someone experienced out there can tell me if this is the case and I can only work on it in school and not from home...

HELP!!

Rach

You can download it and work on it from home but you may need to think about data protection issues.

It is preferable, I think, to only use 1 computer but you could keep saving and inputting the data onto another machine, if you needed to.

Do you have a school laptop you could use?

Guest tinkerbell

Welcome

I have mine on a laptop you can then use it at home and in your PPa time.

It is correct that you should just have it on one machine that is linked to a printer.

Tinkerbell

Hi Rachel. If you go to 'manage your work' and then 'export data' (something like that) you can out it onto a memory stick and transfer it. Then you 'read in from another eprofile' when you get to the other computer.

However, as Susan and Tinkerbell have said, it isnt recommended and you do need to be careful if there is more than one person who may input data because each time you will overwrite anything that is already there. So if you forget (we all do it) to create that export file as the very last thing you do, then you will lose recent entries. Its so easy when you are busy/stressed/distracted to forget this.