Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

School Nursery Issue! Help!

Hi

I have been a member on here for a little while but rarely get the chance to post so hi everyone.

I work part time in a school nursery. we are only a morning nursery so my jobshare and I do ppa cover in the afternoons.

We are in the process of sorting out our home visits etc for Sept. As far as were aware (until today) we had 9 starting in September and 9 in Jan. This number always rises and we average about 24 children.

HOWEVER.... Today our headteacher has informed my jobshare that we are not going to have a jan intake anymore so all 18 will start in sept. (letters have already gone out to parents stating whether their child will start in sept or jan! also we only have 4 days left before breaking up!) We only have 1 teacher and a nursery nurse and our headteacher stopped us staggering the new children in last year. So we are going to have 18 new children starting on one day. 4 of whom will have only turned 3 the week before. I have only worked in the nursery for a couple of years but the children were always 3 1/2 unless they were a priority placement.

I am struggling to see how this is going to work. I know the head needs to make as much money as possible but this cannot possibly be the best for the children. aagggghhhh! any tips or advice would be really welcomed.

Thanks.

Sounds like a nightmare!!!

We don't do home visits at all and whether we stagger the nursery entry depends on how many new ones we are having in at each intake. We also have a very flexible attendance plan that suits each individual child!

This year they will all start together but we will only open for an hour am and pm.

So "old" and new children can access nursery everyday for the first week but only for an hour.