Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What Next?

I'm sure there are a number of you in a similar position to me. I acheived EYPS last year, gained my BAhons at the beginning of this year and manage a lovely EYrs setting, where I've been working for the last 8 or so years. At a recent meeting with other practitioners I discovered I am earning much less than an NQT would be earning and am on the same hourly rate as an assistant in an LA setting nearby. For all of my training, commitment and hard work, I still trail behind in the salary stakes and find it unbelievable someone with limited responsibility and experience can be earning so much more.

I must add I work in the voluntary sector of the PVI sector and have a fab committee with my salary boosted by the EYP premium and bursary.

I seem to work all of the hours god sends yet can't afford holidays etc. I love the autonomy my job gives me, have a great team etc. But I do feel a bit like I've worked so hard for the last few years and haven't really progressed in quality of life, if you know what I mean?

What do those of you in the know reckon? Is it worth me doing a teacher qualification? It worries me the EYPS isn't recognised and is still no better than the level 3 of ten years ago.

Sam

Edited by sam2368

These are all really difficult issues to address, and I think perhaps are symptomatic of why early years practitioners are under valued and little respected except by those who understand our stories and why we do what we do.

Firstly I think you need to look at what it is you want to do with your life. If you have a burning ambition to be a teacher then I would say go for it - you have all the skills and knowledge and will bring all your understanding of how children develop to your teacher's role which can only benefit the children you would be teaching.