Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eyps Is It Worth Doing If I Work In The Primary Sector?

Hi all,

I've been contemplating doing the EYPS course but don't know if it will be of use to me as im based in a primary school. I was speaking to a lady who has just completed it and she said she can't get a specific job with the title of EYPS and within primary education it is not equivalent to Qualified Teacher Status as it states on the course content.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!!

Hi, I would do it as part of your own professional deveolment. :o I work in a primary school and the management outlook is that they will only pay you for the original job that you were employed for. Also the guidelines for schools say a teacher must be in each class. I am doing my foundation degree and I will go on to do EYPS. When enough people have the EYPS the powers that be may allow them to teach in the foundation stage.

Lorraine xD

EYPS is only open to practitioners working in a private, voluntary or independent setting. So if you're working in a school environment you will not be able to get funding to undertake EYPS.

The fact that EYPS is an equivalent status to that of QTS is a bit misleading because having the Status does not mean you can teach in a classroom.

An EYP's job function will be very different in one setting compared to another, so even if a job was advertised with the EYP title it would mean different things. There are more and more jobs that state EYPS as desirable criteria on the person specification, although it is a slow process.

Maz

In our LEA she is considered as support staff albeit with additional qualifications. The member of staff who works in our school nursery who has EYPS supports the teacher and she only covers PPA in Reception because she also has HLTA status.