Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Writing Observations- Help!

Sorry if this has already been asked somewhere else, I'm still learning to find my way around the site!

I've been trying to pluck up the courage to ask this possibly stupid question but the whole issue of writing observations is driving me mad and making me really unhappy because I'm constantly worried about it.

I'm new to Reception and am finding it very hard to get my head around the whole foundation approach (I'm teaching in Wales having moved from England but find it's the same principle as the foundation stage in England) I've only moved from Year 1 and 2 but am still finding it a culture shock doing what I feel is nearly every subject at once.

My worry is what sort of comments should I be writing and how should I word them? I think I'm writing too much and what I am writing is not that useful. I'm fine when it comes to the adult led activities with particular objectives to assess (typical year 1 stuff) but it's the other 'post it note' type comments that confuse me when children are in the various areas. The other problem is my TA's also don't really know what to write either as they've not been used to writing comments in the past and I don't yet feel able to help them as I'm lost myself! Aaagh!

I've scoured the internet trying to find examples of observations for the 6 areas of learning (though we have one more in Wales being Welsh) People talk about the format of observations but nowhere can I find examples of what sort of things to write. I'm sure if I saw some examples I'd begin to think in a different more helpful way and be able to help my TA's too. Does anyone know of any 'banks of comments' in the areas of learning which might be able to give me a kick start?!