Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Al, Ai, Ci - How Do You Organise It All?

Hi ladies

Well I am confused! Can you help?

I am a reception teacher who has just had a good ofsted and no problems in moderations over the last few years but we have just had county in and the advisor said that we don't 'do' child initiated and should do more.

Let me explain how we do it at the moment and please advise how else we can organise it all. We have two classes of 30 children - two teachers and two full time fantastic TA's. We do one adult-led activity a day and the zones in the two classrooms and outside have a learning challenge but although we tell the children about the challenges they have access to the resources in the zones and can take the challenge in any direction they choose. We have planning time with the children each week and they give us ideas for the adult-led and learning challenges and obviously we plan next steps for the children from observations.

The only way we can think of changing it is to have adult-led and adult-initiated (learning challenges) in the morning and completley child-initiated in the afternoon. We are happy to change and try new ideas for the children because there is always room for improvement.

What do you think?

Thanks

Edited by becs08

I think the way you have it organised sounds good - and don't understand why they have said it is wrong (though I guess you don't understand either?!) Also, surely the right way is what works for your setting - stupid authority people.

I changed the way we work in the autumn, so instead of having CI running alonside adult focus stuff, my TA and I do adult focus activities, while the others do independent activities that I have set up/directed them to. Then at another point in the day we have child initiated so that we can both observe/support/join in - rather than trying to work with groups and observe at the same time which was rather tricky.