Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Obs/assess To Meet Eyfs Requirements

happy4

Hello and Happy New Year to you all

I am new here. I would like to ask a question please. I am studying a BA and need to find out if children centres have a policy/ procdure to follow for observation and assessment to meet the EYFS requirements. This is to include transition into stat education. It is only to cover the childcare/nursery aspect. Can anyone help me please?

Many many thanks

p.s. never posted before so hope this goes on ok!!!

Hi Happy4. Welcome to the forum and congratulations on making your first post.

I don't work in Children's Centres myself but I know there's lots on the forum that do. I'm sure that later in the day someone will be able to answer your question.

Good to have you on board. :o

Hello Happy4 and welcome to the Forum.

Our CC works in the same way as any other setting in terms of planning and recording children's achievements and next steps. Each child has a learning journey which starts when they join us, which can be from being a baby. There are long observations, post its for Look, Listen and Note and also records of their focus activities, including their response and next steps. The children's progress is mapped each half term against Progress Matters, and data collated for analysis according to gender, ethnicity, looked after children, SEN, attendance etc. When the children are going to school parents receive a detailed report and the LA have transition documents. On these there is a summary of the children's achievements against Progress Matters. SEN children will have copies of their action plans sent to school as well. The record is sent to the school with a copy of the report. The Learning Journeys are given directly to the parents, so the school may not see those unless they ask the parent.