Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

A Little Advice Please

I work part-time as a nursery teacher in a nursery attached to a primary school. The space I have is lovely BUT very open plan. This means I am on show for the whole of the period - I don't mind this because I'm not doing anything I shouldn't but I am constantly under the watchful eye of the Headteacher. She has in the past told me that there is far too much talk going-on with my nursery nurse before sessions start - when I've tried to explain, she says "I don't want to know, stop the chatter." Anyway yesterday she called me in to discuss some matters and again mentioned about talking with my nursery nurse - I got the chance to explain that we talk about the children, she will ask for my advice and vice versa - we also talk about a particular activity and other things usually ALL nursery related. I told her that my n.n. had now started making notes because of the number of looks we had, she said, thats probably better! I feel so frustrated. I came to teaching very late in my career and have only just completed my NQT year, this is my first proper teaching job. I have worked as a manager in a previous life and would never behave like her (it takes all sorts to make the world go around). Do I bite my tongue and say nothing? The morale in the school is very low - she treats everybody the same - and I feel I should say something to her. I know I would be on my own and that my life would be hell afterwards but ... Incidently, because I only work p/t, the session finishes at 11.30 (when my paid time ends although I seldom leave before one O'clock) my n.n. then has other duties to rush off to - during the session is the only time we have to talk. What should I do?

Hi there - I love your username! xD

What an awful situation to be in... :(