Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Pay For Snow Days?

I am currently a pre school teacher and although the nursery I work at hasn't closed in our recent snow days staff like myself who have to travel some distance haven't been able to get in. Our boss has been understnding and very sympathetic and wouldn't want us to travel if it meant risking our saftey. She has said that we will be paid for one day but that the other 2 days must be taken out of our annual holiday or made up by working extra hours. My only grievence with this is that the parents are still paying for their children even if they don't attend, so therefore my boss is still receving an income! Just wondered what other peoples views were on this subject?

Hi, we are a voluntary preschool so perhaps slightly different situation as we're not in it to make a profit (I'm the chair of the committee).

Our emergency closure policy states that we will pay the first 48 hours of any closure then review the situation. I got in touch with our LEA on the 2nd day and checked that they were still paying us the nursery grant. There were, and as only 2 of our children are not funded, I felt it was only fair to pay staff.

I have insisted that staff try as hard as possible to use their normal work hours to do stuff at home. Luckily we had advance warning so they have been asked to do all profiles up to date, also I have emailed them stuff I want them to read, got them brainstorming ideas for planning, etc. etc.

I would not feel it was right not to pay them given that we are still in receipt of the grant. If your parents are still paying, which would upset me if I was a parent!, then I think you have every right to expect to be paid.

Hope that helps.

Hi, we are a voluntary preschool so perhaps slightly different situation as we're not in it to make a profit (I'm the chair of the committee).