Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Painting On Acrylic

Hi all

I'm a supply teacher out to make a good impression in reception, I've been mooching aroung the forum and would like to improve the outdoor provision.

If I attached some acrylic to our fence, what paint would we use that washes off and how much of a mess would it make on the new surface!

Thanks

jan

Hello and congratulations on your first post on the Forum. I'm sorry you haven't had any replies yet but it has been very quiet in here this weekend. I think eveyone must be doing their Christmas shopping :o

I'm not really sure what to suggest in the way of paint for acryllic. I don't think water-based paint will work, but you could try mixing it with some washing-up liquid to see if that does the trick. At least you won't have trouble washing it off! I think Cromar may work as well. Hopefully someone will come along with a better suggestion.

we used powder paint which has been made up with scola cell glue and some washing up liquid added to it.. no idea of quantity, we just made it! , washed off very easily and worked well, have also used just ready made paint and this was fine ...

I would experiment with what you have first... we never had a problem with whatever paint we used... adding washing up liquid helps it stick to plastics and also helps with washing off afterwards..

I assume this is for the children to paint on and then wash off... I used to love acrylic on a stand so they could see through while they painted on both sides... great fun, sometimes one would stand on one side and the other child would 'paint ' their picture on the acrylic from the other side..

Inge

sorry didn't add the mess bit...

the surface was fine.. washing off needed lots of water and very messy area around it...unless you can lift it off and wash in sink or large water bath...

Inge