Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Using Progress Matters To Plan And Assess In Reception

Hi all,

I'm an NQT in reception and, since I trained in primary and mainly had placements in KS2, I have had no previous experience in reception and have been learning as I go....I was starting to feel like I was getting to grips with EYFS but now, once again, I'm very confused....

I've been setting my learning intentions based on the scale points set out in the Foundation Stage Profile, which I have also been using as assessment criteria......but have been reading a lot about Progress Matters and am now worried that I should be using this as a basis for planning and assessments instead, or even alongside the FSP scale points???

Please help I am so confused!! :o

Primarily the EYFS framework is going to help you plan your curriculum, and as Susan says to differentiate the pitch of the targeted activities you provide. Good use of the dev matters column and the look listen and note column can aid planning, and the other 2 can really help you get the learning environment/adult role right to support the learning you are enabling.

Using assessment criteria ie the EYFSP scale points isn't really the best thing to plan from because they are too broad and in the case of CD, KUW,PD are actually several aspects all grouped into one scale point!! They are summative assessment criteria so I would always use them as that!!

Progress matters is modelling a system for using your summative assessment data once you have compiled it. From this analysis you will identify gaps and areas for development, which I would then use the EYFS framework to plan my next steps from depending on ages/stages of children.

Cx

Thankyou for your help.