Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What To Do Next?

hi again, as everyone was so helpfull with my last question i thought i'd run this by you :o

I am currently doing my DPP and am planning what to do in september, I have a degree in a non-related subject and my boss has suggested i enroll on the long route of the EYPS, however I have only been in the industry a few month and feel i maybe out of my depth going straigt to this level and am considering taking the long route and doing a 2nd degree part - time in early years.

Does anyone have any experiance /advise which may help?

I would say hold back, get some experience under your belt post DPP and then think about EYPS. The prob with EYPS is that much of it is about leadership, and without the right work experience, you will find this hard to prove, regardless of whether you have a relevant or non relevant degree.

By all means undertake the early years degree, but think carefully about EYPS if you have limited experience. However, if you have loads of experience and are in a setting where you can and do influence practices, then go for it.

I would agree that going for EYPS at this stage isn't really appropriate - in fact I think you might even struggle being accepted onto it? -Can anyone with EYP experience confirm/clarify that rash statement???

I would spend some time consolidating, perhaps visit other settings, read and develop your understanding of Early Years before you take on EYPS.

What does anyone else think?

Sue