Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning - Please, Please Help!

After having a manic half-term with lots of difficult domestic stuff, I'm suddenly facing the prospect of going back to school tomorrow still without a clue as to what my planning should look like! Had an advisor in last term who gave me some blank planning proformas but now I'm trying to fill them in I'm totally lost! I want to do a week on Fireworks as that seems appropriate at this time of year and I've got loads of great ideas of activities to do but I can't work out how I can decide what they cover and how to write the planning for them.

This is my first year of teaching Reception on their own and I'm so worried about making a mess of it. I've only got a class of 14 so it should be a doddle, I know, compared to some of you with classes of 30 but I still have no idea what to do.

Please can you help?

hiya

Im not in a school but a pre-school but I have a loose idea of what we will cover for instance it will probably be fireworks and dark/light due to dark nights also the stars and moon connected to a space topic before the wonderful C word.

However it something i will discuss with the children on the first days back. we do a spider chart for the centre of our learning wall and we talk about things we could and want to learn about. As the term progreses this will take other paths and tha tis fine.

With 14 chidlren this would most definatly be achievable but not sure about any pressure you have from head or key stage 1 teachers tho.

Good luck what ever you decide

Andrea

Hi TesTwinkles

Do you want to use the proformas your advisor has given you or do you want to do your own thing? If you want to use the proformas, perhaps you could tell us what the headings on the form are, and the wise teachers on here can suggest what sort of things can go in the boxes?

Maz