Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Childrens Drawings

jaime

Having worked in a nursery fror many years with different teachers, I have noticed thay all have had very different views when it comes to children's drawings.

Some believe we should direst the children when they are drawing, so they gain a recognisable outcome and others allow the children to freely draw and have a picture only they recognise.

what view should i follow? at present i believe in a bit of both.

Hi Jaime -

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting! :D

What's your own position in the nursery? I'm not experienced in art theory myself, but I bet Kate and others will have something to say in the matter. Think I'll leave it to them to comment here...

Welcome again - Regards, Steve.

Having worked in a nursery fror many years with different teachers, I have noticed thay all have had very different views when it comes to children's drawings.

Some believe we should direst the children when they are drawing, so they gain a recognisable outcome and others allow the children to freely draw and have a picture only they recognise.

what view should i follow? at present i believe in a bit of both.

Dear Jaime

I love to see childrens artwork in any shape or form - I always find that as they develop and they are able to talk about their pictures and what's happening then at this stage its a good idea to talk about their drawings in a constructive, positive and suggestive way - sometimes they take this on board - sometimes they don't. I've had a spider with ten legs - that's because it's grown up! :) There was no way he wanted to put in eight and had great pleasure in counting them all out - surely he has learnt just as much from the counting than the fact that spiders have eight legs!

Hi Jaime -

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting! :D