Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Daily Routine Help!

Dear All,

First of all thank you for all your help over the past three years, I have been a dedicated reader but this is officially my first post. I hope it works! xD I have been teaching in Reception or FS2 for four years now and this year I am moving to Nursery, which I have to admit frightens me slightly! I am really excited but could do with some expert advice. That's where you guys come in.

My problem is the daily routine :o I want to avoid too many transitions and have as much child initiated time as poss but at the same time need to get adult directed/initiated time in too and breaks for the staff. Any tips on getting the balance right, without stopping and starting too much?

We are a small nursery where the children attend after their fourth birthday,full time 9.00 -3.00 following the settling in process.

I have been searching on the internet and found lots of examples but I was hoping someone had some ideas that were tried and tested. Any recommendations, tips or things that work well for you are warmly welcome!

Thank you,

Lynsey :(

Welcome and congratulations on your first post. Are you following something along the lines of EYFS in the Netherlands?

What's been happening in the Nursery over the last year, and have you 'inherited' any staff who may have valuable ideas and input for you?

I'd say do what feels natural at first and go from there - each yeargroup of children is different, we get a year of children who love structure and want to do what they perceive as 'grown up' work, and then another year when they just want to lie on the floor and brum cars round the floormat. (If you get my meaning) So see what sort of group you have

Hello there Lynsey and welcome to the forum, officially that is as youve been with us a while.