Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Outdoor Area, Please Help!

Hi,

I'm a bit new to all this so don't know if i'm in the right place but would love some advice.

I have an interview for my first teaching post on friday, i'm very, very nervous. I've been asked to do a 25 minute session in the outdoor area. They have just about everything you could wish for and i can teach any area of learning. I was thinking of doing something around the Gruffalo or minibeasts but would love some advice becuase i really want to impress!

Thanks for any suggestions xxx :o

If minibeasts...

1.)create a minibeasts sheet and they draw the ones they find, provide magnifying glasses, shovels etc for looking

2.)make a minibeast home/environment from junk modelling stuff

3.) Print of a variety of minibeasts with the initial sound highlighted, have buckets with the initial sound on and children have to put in correct bucket (i'd limit it to 6 buckets)

The Gruffalo is a bit more tricky...

1.) you could try making the animals home using a varitey of large construction

2.) you could do a role play activity pretending to be the gruffalo

Hope this helps...

:o

I had a fascinating time with the children at our setting when I brought in some snails. I had been intending to make a bug box with them, but in the end what they really wanted to do was to study the snails. I had some pictures of different snails, and they matched them to these. Then they basically experimented - a snail on a stick, turn it upside, it sticks! Which snail is going the fastest, etc. I found the snails under a rock in my garden and took them in in a box with lettuce, rocks, bits of wood, etc. so they weren't stressed.

if they have lots of found materials e.g. crates, planks, tubes, tyres etc could you get htem to build their own obstacle course? get some problem solving and team building in to boot.