Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Another Transition Question

OK a distinct lack of work all half term has left me stressed on a Sunday night again! Quick question - if my transition policy (and all other policies for that matter) state that I work with teachers and other professionals, I have verbally mentioned my intention to invite teachers in to visit this half term and I will let parents know when the child's teacher is coming in before the day, do I need to get written permission from the parents to write the invites to the teachers? (OK not a quick question, but hopefully a quick answer!) Also the child is named in the letter because I have had experience of the teacher popping in before now and not knowing exactly who they are visiting.

I might be back with more panic questions before the night is out, or I might just go to bed and hang the consequences! Thanks.

As a Reception teacher I get invited into the pre-school that rents a room in our school as most of our intake comes from there, but not all of the children there are coming up, as some of them have only just started pre-school. I go into do a story time once a week , but I don't think the setting gets permission. I'll find out when we go back this week!

I have done this when I was in a pre-school, as opposed to a day nursery, where I am now. I didn't get permission to write letters inviting teachers, but I didn't mention specific children, it was more to build general links. Obviously I got permission when I took children to visit their next setting!

In the day nursery we have to get permission for just about everything, but whenever a teacher has visited us, we haven't (wondering why not, now... maybe because, again, no specific children are mentioned). Don't really know what the 'official' position is - that was a fat lot of help, wasn't it!! :o

Sue