Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Gender Issues

I work in a school which has close connections with and RAF base. I know that gender roles are very pronounced higher in the school but would be interested to know what people think about younger children aged 3-5? Does it develop naturally or do they learn from being ridiculed by older children?

Hi Wendy. I really believe that gender roles are largely learnt through a huge range of cultural influences peers, families, schools, television etc. I think younger children learn to take on particular roles and also learn to react against what they think is normal unfortunately unless they are encouraged to welcome and celebrate differences !

I have a boy in my Reception class who lives with his Mum and 2 sisters and loves everything pink and Barbie etc. Women have been his most important influences. At the moment most of the other children accept this.... but the occasioal child makes a comment like 'But that's for girls' when he gets all excited about a new dressing up wedding dress ! I fear as he gets a little older these comments will be more frequent and he will stop taking an interest in princesses and fairy tales to fit in or face being picked on.

I do think boys tend to be more interested in physical / active / sometimes aggressive play but mainly (maybe there is a bit of our biology at play ) because we encourage them to do so. What does everyone else think ?

Galleon :o

hi Wendy

I'm not really sure I understand exactly what it is that you want to know here.

There always seem to be boys who like boy things and girls who like girl things and then you boys who are more interested in what might be considered girl things and vice versa. Is this what you mean? :o