Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Apprenticeship Interview Questions

Morning all!

We are considering offering apprenticeships in September , have some interviews for apprentices today!

Does anyone have apprenticeship experience- who could guide me in the right direction, any suitable interview questions, paperwork I would need etc please?

thanks have a good day x

I have no experience of apprenices, sharonsash - but I wish you well with this venture. Young people today get such a bad press, and it will be interesting to see what your batch are like.

One question that strikes me is to ask why they want to work with children. This should be able to weed out those who think it is easy work, those who really want to play with dolls all day and those who really have an interest in how children learn and develop.

Let us know how it goes!

Maz

...................and don't be surprised if the answer is "because I babysit my cousins/nephew/nieces" etc :o

seriously though, keep in mind that these young people will not have had much (if any) 'interview' experience so to get the best out of them would be to make the experience as informal as possible but with a clear focus on the importance of the role. Just thinking off the top of my head, in a way you will be 'selling' childcare as a career to these young people just as much as them showing that they have the motivation to 'give it a go'. They don't know if it's the career path they want to take until they've tried it. Have ready information about various training routes etc.

The applicant will need to consider the 'day to day' role in your setting plus the longer term prospectives of this profession.

Peggy

we had apprentices, three by the time i left, first was by sort of default, she asked to come and have a placement with us at college and fitted in so well it just seemed to follow through, she became a much valued member of staff, and still is 5 years later...