Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Gifted And Talented Children In Nursery

Guest Wolfie

Guest Wolfie

Has anyone out there devised a policy for Gifted and Talented children in nursery?

I have a parent coming to see me next week who is convinced that her 3 year old daughter is gifted and talented and wants to push for her to be admitted to school early. It's an area that I've never needed to look into seriously and I feel that I need to develop my knowledge and understanding of policy and procedure in this area......any experts out there?

I'm not an expert but as a parent of a G&T child I have had to do some research of my own :o

If you google G&T policies there are some good ones out there and some useful basic information. If you struggle I would happy for you to PM me for some of my links. I don't have a policy myself for the pre-school as I would argue that we differentiate for all children and that from my personal experience there is always something which a child needs support in achieving at that age. My issues came about when the Y1 teacher didn't take on board advice from myself, the pre-school assistant who worked with my child and his reception class teacher. I would not push for an accelerated entry to school or through the school and I know that in our LA children are no longer to enter state secondary schools early any more. Although of course private ed is another matter.

With my son he needed a lot of PSE support as he was great with adults, not so with peers. Even within a setting though he could be stretched and extended whilst staying with his peers and this stopped him being one of those children who feature so heavily on documentaries about this area. Of course your parent might want her child to be such a "star". Hope that helps - I tend to ramble a bit on this subject - sorry!