Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Flickr

Hi there,

I'm trying to find a way of sharing photos online for immediate family and some close friends. Although I am now near having an OCD in backing up (having learnt this lesson the hard way recently), I am looking for a something somewhere secure and free (ish) to upload photos in case anything happens to our Mac, the backup disk or even the house. :o

Has anyone used Flickr and is it secure enough to prevent anyone seeing any photos I may upload esp of those of my neice and other friend's children? Also do I need to have a yahoo acount and again is it secure?

Hope someone can help!

Many thanks.

o0o0o hello I'm here! I've been using Flickr for my photos since 2006. I've never had any problems with it. You need a yahoo account in order to login but I only use it for that, I don't use it otherwise!

It's great as you can set photos to be friends and family only (other flickr users) or public or completly private. You can also give people guest passes to access certain photos if they are not flickr users but you have non public photos that you want to share.

I've been doing a photo a day project since March 19th 2007 and I'm still going strong! It's great to be able to share my photos with loads of people all over the world but then keep ones I want to myself or just my friends.

Here are my photo a day photos if anyone is interested:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nichola80/set...57612413281626/

They aren't on a guess pass so there may be a couple of gaps dates wise.

Trouble with flickr is that you have to pay to have large amounts of pics on there. Picasa from google is free and works just as well i think. (I've got both) You send your pics on picasa to the people you want via your email. You can have it on your system and then create web albums too.

Cx

Hi.

I too am a big user of flickr and think its great!!

Generally I mark my photographs for public view and have never had any problems.