Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

15hrs Provision

How do people staff a school nursery so they can cover the 15hrs provision parents are entitled to? My head and I have thought up some interesting ideas but would to hear how others have tackled this problem.

cheers

Verity

How do people staff a school nursery so they can cover the 15hrs provision parents are entitled to? My head and I have thought up some interesting ideas but would to hear how others have tackled this problem.

cheers

Verity

Hi Verityn,

I work in a school nursery and we open 8-30am till 11-30am/12-15pm till 3-15pm. We find it works really well.

Myself (N.N) and a level 2 TA (ie. usual nursery staff) are there until our nursery teacher is available although she tends to come in anyway. We also have a level 3 TA to call on should all the children come in on opening but that never seems to happen. The children tend to come in gradually over the first 15mins which is nice because you get to greet them all individually instead of having a big rush. We have 15mins to prepare the nursery for the afternoon session then half an hour for lunch. The teacher is there until 3pm then we do the last bit as she has meetings etc. after school.

Support staff in the nursery work until 4pm/4-30pm. This is due to single status/job evaluation reducing our pay, we work extra to keep our wages and this happened before the 15hr provision was introduced.We use this time to set up for for the next day, prepare resources and catch up with any work etc.

Hope this is heplful. :o

We start the day at 8.45 - 11.45 then 12.30 - 3.30 (no change in staffing teachers and NNs)

Parents who want a full day actually get 8.45 - 3.30 but pay the private day care in the CC for the additional 45 mins care and meal over lunchtime.