Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Jolly Phonics

I have been searching the net, to no avail for a jolly phonics sheet that i came across some time ago during my teacher training. As i can't find it i am hoping any one could help me. It is a single 'at a glance' sheet that has all of the actions on. I am still learning this programme and would find this extremely useful. Hope someone can help, or direct me as to where i can find it.

p.s it isnt in my jolly phonics manual! :o

Alysha

There is a booklet called Jolly Phonics Parent/Teacher Guide that has a page of 'actions'.

I usually send for more copies (free) to

Jolly Phonics Ltd

Tailours House

High Road

Chigwell

Essex

IG7 6DL

or phone 0208 501 0405

There is also a web site www.jollylearning.co.uk

Hope this helps.

Sue J

Hi Alesha, havent seen that or the parents handout thta Sue mentions. I made my own for parents and sent home 6 sounds everytime we had learnt them all.

For myself I copied the action bit from the page of the handbook, and made double sided flash cards so that when I flashed the letter to the children, I had the action in full view!

Jolly learning lists all of the actions - see below.

We're in the process of copying/scanning the pictures to put on to 1 or 2 sheets for the parents so if anyone already has this I would be grateful.

The Actions

s Weave hand in an s shape, like a snake, and say ssssss

a Wiggle fingers above elbow as if ants crawling on you and say a, a, a.

t Turn head from side to side as if watching tennis and say t, t, t.

i Pretend to be a mouse by wriggling fingers at end of nose and squeak i, i, i.

p Pretend to puff out candles and say p, p, p.

n Make a noise, as if you are a plane - hold arms out and say nnnnnn.

c k Raise hands and snap fingers as if playing castanets and say ck, ck, ck.

e Pretend to tap an egg on the side of a pan and crack it into the pan, saying eh, eh, eh.