Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning Rec/yr1

Hi

Although I have been a member for a while this is my first time seeking advice and help from what I can see as an excellent way of sharing ideas and thoughts.

I have 11 reception and 6 yr1 in the mornings and and extra 3 yr2 in the afternoon. Have been working since October without classroom support and just been told I am a one man band from now on. Wondering if anyone else is in this situation as I am in need of support on how to juggle and stretch myself between foundation yr1/2 :o Ofsted looming

Please help!! no help from early years team at county as school do not pay into service aggreement

I can't understand how you are on your own though, EYFS is quite specific about ratios - or are you within these as you only have 11 - are the others not taken into account? If so it's not right.

Have you any parents who would like to come in and help? That's how I started, 22 years ago!

Hi Blackcat,

Poor you! Just an idea but do you have any parents that might come in and help as parent helpers? If you got somebody in to help regularly, this might really help free you up to work with different small groups, complete your observations or focus on Y1/2s.

Also, have you tried wearing a 'hat' or a 'tiara' when you are working with a group and really do not want to be disturbed unless it is an emergency! This really works for me (after a few attempts at drilling it in to the children) and means you can focus in on a group or complete observations.

Is there no give in the budget for even a part time TA?? It's so difficult to work with that mix without support.

Hope those ideas help a bit!

Qx

Hi Blackcat,

Poor you! Just an idea but do you have any parents that might come in and help as parent helpers? If you got somebody in to help regularly, this might really help free you up to work with different small groups, complete your observations or focus on Y1/2s.