Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help Me Help Me Help Me - Planning And Observations

Hey all, this is my first post, so would like to say hello to you all.

I've recently returned back to work after being on maternity leave and have been moved from the baby unit into a 3-5 age group room. I have taken the post of room leader, but I feel totally adrift as I have little experience of this age group and have no knowlegde of the eyfs. From reading things on here it seams to me that i have a huge amount to do and to learn. To make matters worse the nursery has failed its last ofsted inspection and is due another at any time, so im running out of time.

so my questions are:

1. We currently have weekly planning sheet which covers the areas of provision, there is also a planned activity for the week which goes into more detail. With this in place should i still have continuous provision posters in the different areas?

2. Should keyworkers be planning activities for their key children rather than me planning detailed activities? If so how many activities should there be every week? Should it be one activity per keywoker per week? or more or different every day???

3. Is there any advice from anyone in regards the eyfs as i feel totally clueless.

4. Should i really be using topics such as 'my family' or 'bears', or should the planning reflect learning goals instead???

I work with 2 other nursery practitioners and we have up to 18 children at the moment. and the girls have little idea either as they have only recently moved to the room. Also the childrens folders are virtually empty! How am i going to do it all?

many thanks

hello and welcome to the forum - conratulations on your baby :o

i think you need to take things slwely and try not to panic.

in my group my staff plan for their keychildren as they know them best and where to progress them on to. They plan an activity once a week for thier key group.