Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Outdoor Play

Hello all, I'm new to the site and think it's absolutely fab! I am a student and this site has given me lots of ideas for teaching. I am currently doing my dissertation and wonder if anyone can help me? I am interested in outdoor play as on placements I have found it is totally dependant on the practitioner weather/out of comfort zone etc. I have decided to do it on

A teacher's perception of the role of outdoor play and how they incorporate it within their setting.

Just wondering whether anyone has any brilliant ideas to share...maybe about their experience of outdoor play or how you do it at your school. Any help is much appreciated, very nervous about dissertation....thanks x

Welcome to the forum stephlb86! I'm glad that you've found the forum useful so far - please feel free to join in with the discussions or ask more questions if there is anything you are unsure about. xD

I'm going to move this into the training part of the forum where you are likely to get a better response, and lots of sympathy about dissertation writing! :o

Hello and welcome to the forum.

I can't really help, but I would like to say we have invested in a canopy that we have saved for 5 years to buy. It is the best thing we have ever invested in as it enables us to use the outdoor area whatever the weather. Even when it is raining we can allow the children to run freely in their coats, boots and umbrellas as we have space for all these things to be housed and children can get dry again before going indoors. We had a couple of members of staff who didn't like playing outdoor, but we do it on a rota so no one is outside for too long and eveyone is far more excepting!!

Good luck with your dissertation!! :o

Welcome to the forum, first of all - what a wise decision!