Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Please Help!

i would be grateful for any suggestions-i am a preschool leader of a charitable pre school-we are run by a very very very big charity who now offer provision within many childrens centres. they have now decided that our preschools which are run from a portacabin and former shop are outdated and insufficient therefore have mentioned redundancy!!!! they have offered alternative employment at two children centres which i went to view yesterday-i am so dissapointed-their nursery provision was nowhere near as nice as ours-bare walls, minimum staff ratios,minimum planning on display, hardly any childrens work on display-i could go on and on-i feel absolutely gutted-what can we do to avoid this????

Thats awful! surely if the problem is the buildings which are insufficient they should look at improving them rather then just closing down!

Could you put together a proposal to rebuild/improve the buildings?

I do sympathise: I worked as a QTS in a Children's Centre for a year, and it looked just like you described. But, if you work there, you could make it so much better :o

What role are you likely to have there?

Are you in a position to put together a list of the possible improvements to the CC, which would bring it up to nearer your current standard, and point these out to your employers. If they thought you were looking at the bigger picture, and had the best interests of the nursery in mind, they may put you in a position where you could make huge changes. A passionate, dedicated employee is every employers dream xD

It's not all doom and gloom, really. My old CC looked like a different place after a few months of consistent, high quality input from a small group of practitioners.