Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning For Stay And Play Sessions?

Guest budgie1

Guest budgie1

Hi,

I am new in post at a children's centre and wondered if other children's centres have a planning format that they use in each session.

Also how (if at all) do you monitor and track children?

Any ideas would be welcome!! :o

Edited by budgie1

Hi,

I am new in post at a children's centre and wondered if other children's centres have a planning format that they use in each session.

Hi I work in achildrens centre. We do have a play n stay session but the parents run it themselves. We do no formal planning, just provide aroom and toys. We do however have a formal drop-in for childminders and that is a planned session which is based around the observations of the children and we plan from there.

Kiverpool 18

I dont work in a childrens centre(pre-school) but would also like to know more about stay and play sessions. We have cut some of our afternoon sessions for lack of take up a problem in our area this year so we would like to offer stay and play . we would like it to have the usual play but add some activities such as learning to make dough and what your child gets from this. so I would love to hear or see how others do this too.

sue

It's late on Fiday night and I'm too tired to think properly - just to let you know that I've read this post and will come back to you about the planning - our Centre outreach worked plans ours and sh'e fab!

If I haven't replied by the end of the weekend, give me a nudge!

• 2 weeks later...