Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eyfs And Foundation Degree - Help?

tess

Hello I went back to start year 2 of my foundation degree today and my whole table has come away totally depressed.

Can I have your thoughts please - I am studying FD in childhood studies and this year we have been split into early years and school groups. I am completing "Intergrated Early Learning, development and care".

All was well until we discussed planning and were told prepare your medium term plan - "put a lot of time in now" for example on the topic of ourselves and then no work next year it's all done for you.....

I am going to admit I was quiet for 30 seconds before I interrupted and went on about planning for indiviual needs, childrens interests, continuous provision, eyfs.

To say It was pointless was understatement of the week - I used example of how a new child had been observed pouring paint out, putting hands in gloop and exploring with her hands. So this week we have put builders tray out with paint and add different textures in and how she is exploring this.

The answer well that would be in medium term plan - but how would I know she was going to do that last year. I hadn't even met her.

I went on a course being run by early excellence in huddersfield on Tues (day 1 of 3) it was fab and I was inspired and believe in their methods. But what do I do know?

I am really concerned I am going to be expected to produce medium term plans again to use year in year out. But what can I do?

any ideas - so far I am planning to take all my notes from early excellence with next week. But fear I will be seen as trouble.

Hi Tess

It seems to me that your college lecturers need updating on the new requirements under the eyfs! Do they not know that we are now follwing individual children's interests and the old 'topic' medium term planning has been thrown in the shredder (where it should have gone long, long ago!).