Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Literacy Planning

Hello!

This is my first post! I am truly grateful for this website and all the support everyone offers!

I am new to Reception, and really confused about the literacy. Should I be teaching both phonics (Letters and Sounds) AND doing sentence and text level too? Does anyone use the Hamilton plans for Reception?

Thank you!

Welcome to the forum!

Looking at this from the literacy perspective, (I was a literacy consultant in a previous life), at this point in the term, we would have expected to see daily phonics, a couple of guided reads over the week (very short and snappy, and rooted in phonics/reading behaviours), shared writing as appropriate, (this could be something as simple as showing children how to write their names in a list for milk, etc), or modelling " I like chips.", shared reading and of course the children should be hearing lots of stories. With EYFS now in place, it seems the daily focus sessions do not necessarily have to be literacy based, other than daily phonics, but I would still hang on to my guided reading and daily stories. I've also seen people do a daily literacy focus session to good effect, but I'm not sure they would still be doing it now, and think that would also depend on your staffing, etc.