Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What To Do Next?

beth1

Well I can't belive I have been a manager for 6 months. I got the higest score out of the few that applied at the time and it fits in with my FD course.

It has been a very busy time; sorting out the planning, trying to put paperwork in some sort of order etc. On the other hand I have had staff leaving (next one due to go very soon), plus other things that can't be mentioned on here that spring to mind.

Having refected on what has been done plus a couple of issues that have arised lately. I am feeling down and that I don't belong right at the top of the management level. I think I would cope better at senior room level or equievlent as I am struggling with some aspects of being a manager. I also miss having lots time just to spend with the children, due to the nature of the job even if I am supernuemary.

I have been thinking about this for a while now (even if I am getting a nearly new car next week) about staying for a while longer and try to find a new job with less responisblities. However having been doing and contuing with my Foundation Degree course, I feel that peoples preceptions towards me will be doing managers postion rather than a senior early years practitioner postion.

I am not sure what to do next, I have seen a few jobs that are a peg or two down from what I do now (I think job desciption not very clear) for example mangaging a team of staff and ensuring good quality provision in the setting. Or just becoming an Early Years Practitoner again.

Beth

Hi Beth,