Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New To Foundation Stage!

I can only imagine that this forum in inundated with requests for information/advice such as this but if there is anyone who would be kind enough to answer my questions....it would really cheer my day up!

I am a KS2 trained teacher (Year 5 and 6) who has been teaching for just over 5 years now. I am going to teach Reception in September and have started to freak out!

I have NO experience in this stage and have not observed anyone teaching this age group. I was given a budget to do up a classroom and have started to put all my furniture together today when all of a sudden I realised.....I don't have a clue what to do. (Not just with the furniture!)

I have trawled the internet for hours, gone through past planning at our school, spoken to our FS leader, bought books and watched all the videos on teachers TV and still feel the only thing I really don't understand is.....the day!

So....I have a few questions!! Even if you can only answer one, I will be so so pleased!

What are the key documents I should have? (I've been given conflicting advice....I've been told Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage little purple folder is the main thing even though I keep seeing new documentation.)

What is the profile and is there another document in relation to this?

Where are the objectives I need to teach?

I've got a million other questions but right now...I feel like I am drowning....

Any advice.

x

I'm afraid I can't offer much advice - someone will no doubt be along soon with loads of experience though! Just to say don't panic - and to offer a sympathetic ear. I'm in the same boat as you, moving from Y5/6 after 4 years.

This forum is fantastic - you'll soon start to see a little bit of wood amongst the trees, I'm sure.

Good luck, and I'm sure we'll be exchanging last minute panics as September approaches!

Tracylu :o

I'm pleased to see I'm not the only one!