Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Learning Journeys/journals

Can someone please clarify are these the same as a Record of Achievement file. I have been told that these are what some settings are doing who already have done and managed outstanding ROA files and that these are a step up.

Can someone please clarify are these the same as a Record of Achievement file. I have been told that these are what some settings are doing who already have done and managed outstanding ROA files and that these are a step up.

This is my first attempt at using a forum so hope this works .

We currantly have individual learning profiles for each child which contain their observations,notes, work products, targets etc and highlighting sheets for school. We are now renaming them learning journeys! :o

Guest Wolfie

I think that people do use the term Learning Journey/Learning Story in slightly different contexts sometimes - I've come across the term in two main ways..

Firstly, as a description of achild's learning journey over a long period of time, as you have suggested - also sometimes called a Record of Achievement, individual learning profile, etc.

Secondly, I have seen the term used to describe one particular experience/activity etc. that a child has been involved in during a session - the child has been observed/photographed over this period of time and the "journey" has later been documented by the practitioner, teasing out the whole range of learning/skills/knowledge/attitudes evidenced by observation of that activity.

In relation to the second description, Marion Dowling recommended a book to further our understanding - I've bought it but haven't got past the title page yet!

Margaret Carr - Assessment in Early Childhood Settings, published by Sage. I'd do a link for you but the Internet is r-e-a-l-l-y s-l-o-w this afternoon!