Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sports Day

HI Im wondering if anyone can help me. This is my first year of running a preschool and the comitiee have asked us to hold a small sports day for our children. This would be the first time i have done one and im getting really stuck for interesting and motivational ideas has anyone got any advice or ideas we could use. Would be really greatful.

:o

Hi Sarah - by coincidence I received my NCMA childminding magazine today which suggests a "mini Olympics" and covers the history of the Games, links in with info on China and suggestions for "Olympian" cardboard medals for all participants and some sporting events. Some are balloon between the knees race, walking backward race, shot putting with a small soft ball, mini javelin (4 drinking straws taped together and thrown toward a target) hammer throw (small paper bag filled with scrunched paper and tied with string about 20cm long)

Sparklebox also have sports day certificates for downloading.

Hope those get you started! Have fun!

Nona

My children used to love to do 'pretent' races

pretend to be on a motorbike ( adults leads the start of the race ie: get on your bike, crash helmet on, turn the ignition, turn the throttle, lots of BBBRRM BBRRMM sounds, hold the handlebars, ready....go)

in a racing car - similar sequence to above

on a horse

on ski's - pretend to move ski's as they run

etc

Also enjoyed the backwards race.

Peggy

Thank you very much for your help my mind goes blank sometimes and just need a few ideas to help me along the way. I love them all will have to start organising now another thing to have to think about.

Thanks everyone

:oxD