Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Managing The Nursery Activities

I'm new to Nursery and finding that I seem to be spending most of my time supervising the children rather than engaging with them properly, every time I try a child needs attention or they stop playing. I'm worrying because I don't feel I can assess what the children can do or do 'proper' activities. Is it ok to be observing most of the time...I feel like I'm 'skiving'! I would be grateful for ideas how others organise things for Nursery children in a Foundation Unit setting. Thanks!

just wanted to say 'know how you feel!'

yes that's certainly how it is, especially at this time of the year when they are sooooo young. Use the time to write observations to gain an insight into their interests and abilities. But without enough adult support it is difficult to spend a great deal of time with individuals. It does, however, get better. Good luck.

Why do we all feel like we are skiving , when we do observations.

We have talked about this in our unit and its like if someone comes into the unit we have to say we are working, because we appear to just be sat.

Its great to get to know the children through observations. At the minute we dont seem to be getting many done as we have quite a few children who were only 3 in december and they are taking up so much time time just getting them to listen and respond to our requests.

Try not to feel like a skiver, obs are so valuable.

As Rea can vouch, in our Toddler Room, when the heuristic play comes out, the staff simply 'melt into the wallpaper'. They are, however, watching, noting, observing and on the alert to any hazards that may develop. This is invaluable self-discovery and exploration for such young children and the non-intervention of adults is essential. Take that thought forward to other age groups and hold your heads high.

You're doing a grand job!

Sue

Yes I can Sue, happily :o