Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New To Preschool And Need Help/ Advice Please

first of all im new to the forum so hi everyone.

background info before i begin.

i have a degree in early years and recenttly gained my early years professional status. for the past three years i have worked with under twos and for the past 2 years of those have been leading an early toddler unit (1-2 years) i consider myself to be a bit of an expert with under 3s and the birth to three. the company i work for is opening a new childrens centre and they have asked me to go and be the preschool teacher there, while i am very excited for the new challenege i am slighlty worried as havnt worked with this age before, and as i told my manager i think im gona be a little out of my depth to begin with, but they seem to have faith in me! i know about the eyfs and what it consists of, but have never used the foundation stage or planned for this age.

in my current room i do my planning based on childrens individual needs and interests, and obviosly with the age range im with its very much about encouraging independence and developing social skills.

my role will first of all consist of leading one room of 3-5 year olds but as we become busier the age range will split to one roo the rooms will have up to 24 children each (not that many to begin with though) and we are currently implementing learning journeys so have brief understanding of how to use these

help needed:-

is it better to use topics/themes or follow the childrens needs/interests or a mixture of both and if so how do you do this???

is there any sort of "formal" learning- ie what do you do for literacy and numeracy?

how do you show differentation on the planning?

how do you track progress

could you share a routine with me

any help would be greatly appreciated

thankyou

x

Hi northernbird and welcome to the forum. Thank you for introducing yourself-looks like quite a challenge for you.