Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Chinese New Year

• 1 year later...

Hi there everyone

Well it is my first time adding a post. It is a fantastic site and has given my some great ideas and info.

I am thinking about Chinese New year. Yes i know its only October but i need to get the ball rolling on my idea.

Does anyone know of a dance or performing arts group that will come to nursery and do the Chinese dancing dragon for the children to watch. I think it would be a wonderful experience for the children.

i work in a nursery in Cheshire. if anyone can help or give ideas then that would be great.

Thanks

Alison

We've never managed to have a live group in school (which would be fantastic!) but we have watched on the smartboard and then made our own dragon head with a long piece of red fabric behind. We arm ourselves with music an instruments and the children all get a chance to be the leader/dance/play instruments - it's really good fun :) but you do need a bit of space!

We've never managed to have a live group in school (which would be fantastic!) but we have watched on the smartboard and then made our own dragon head with a long piece of red fabric behind. We arm ourselves with music an instruments and the children all get a chance to be the leader/dance/play instruments - it's really good fun :) but you do need a bit of space!

Thanks that sounds like lots of fun. I have just been on ebay and you can buy the costume from China, though the children will probably have more fun making thier own.

Thanks

Where did you hear that it's on 7th Feb?

As far as I know, the next one starts on 14th Feb (changes every year. Following a lunar calendar or something like that)

It lasts for 15 fun-filled days of family gatherings and feasting. :o

Regards

Mark

http://earlychildcare.wordpress.com/

Ok i need a little help here i have found out it starts on the 7th feb but how long dose it go on for?