Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Silly Questions

Hello everyone!

I have just read some of the earlier discussions on the e profile and am beginning to panic - I can't access my foundation stage profile because it is not linked to SIMs and i have never used it before so haven't a clue what I am doing. What should i be putting into it, by when and how?

I am using professional judgment for most of evidence - I do write down some obs. Is that enough?

I don't know about foundation stage being moderated- by whom and when?

ALso what is being moderated this year- didn't understand the abbreviation's.

really sorry about my stupidity but not been in foundation stage for a number of years and it has all changed since teaching there before.

thank you

Suzy

Hi suzy

Moderation takes place by the LEA although the exact way it is done varies from LEA to LEA. I have worked in 2 and both had different ways although the LEA advisor is involved. You may be required to attend a cluster or moderation meeting or you may get a setting visit. You are usually required to identify 3 children, one higher one middle and one lower attaining and on a setting visit the moderator will observe the child and make a judgement as to whether they agree with you re profile scores.

Moderation usually takes place in spring and summer terms. 2 areas are moderated every year.

Without knowing the exact abbreviations that you refer to, those most commonly used would be to refer to the curriculum/profile areas. CLL---Communication, language and literacy, for example.