Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help Needed Please

Hi i am a novice on the computer only been online for a week.

my friend told me about this site and i would just like to say well done.

What a great web site

Please help i am doing a topic on people who help us, any ideas would be welcome.

You could show the children a book about firemen, police e.g. and then get them to draw some pictures.

Make a firemans helmet

Turn the hone corner into a police station, fire station, hospital

Make hospitals, fire stations out of junk

You could do a wall display and get the children to cut pictures out of magazines.

Hope this helps :o

We have just finished the theme People in our Community. We had lots of visitors - Fire Brigade, Police, Postman, Paramedic, Nurse, Vicar, Librarian, Musician, Akela (cub leader), Basket ball players, all telling us about their role in our community. Some of them bought vehicles for us all to look at and get into, Akela told us about cubs and camping and badges, etc. We made tents and had camp fire songs. We also made badges. The vicar brought her guitar and taught us a new song. We had a doctors surgery using the plasters and bandages the nurse brought us. In fact it was a very busy half term and the children learnt a lot. Their favourite visitor was the Fire Brigade, they got into the fire engine and tried on the hats, and even used the hoses.

We made police helmets, fire engines from 'junk' boxes, played basket ball, made tents, etc, etc.

Other years we have had, a chef, fisherman and waitress.

There are lots of people who help us - teachers, shop assistants, breakdown (RAC), mummies, daddies, grandparents, friends.

Now I am making a book called People in our Community using all the photos I took. It will go into the bookcorner and we know from past experiences that it will be well looked at. The children love looking at photos of themselves and re living the visits.

Good luck and enjoy it! :D:D

Sue J

Hi sassy!