Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Child Initiated Learning

Guest tabithawebb

Guest tabithawebb

I am a newly returning teacher and completely new to this site, my first posting. I am finding it hard to understand exactly how child initiated learning should work. The phrase is clear enough but how do I plan for it? Should I do any planning? Should it be an ongoing feature in the timetable or a separate slot in the day? I feel lost and no one has any answers for my questions at school. Please share with me how you do it and any information will be helpful.

Hello there!

May I be the first to welcome you to the forum, I hope you have many happy hours in front of you!

As to your question, I'm in a Daycare setting so realise there will be different needs and considerations, such as the Literacy/Numeracy thing, but we take this sort of approach. I think that provided all, or as many as possible, of your resources for the children are accessible to them, then you will be able to leave it pretty much up to them what they access. We work with one Focus activity a day, which is always attended by an adult as it is the main Learning Objective for the day. Other staff are 'floaters' (or whatever you want to call them!) or assist at the snack bar. You may at first want to have some loose planning in place , but this should follow on from the children's interests as seen, say, during the previous week. You can then present enhancements to aid the children's learning. Talking to the children about their choices and interests is also a great way of 'finding their level' as it were, and I hope you manage to make a go of it, because it really brings out the fun of working with children.

Your planning can always be done retrospectively - I think this is acceptable in a school - any teachers out there, am I right?? And, obviously, the day will need some sort of structure.

One important thing to teach them, though, is to Put Away when finished with toys/resources!!!