Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

IEP in year 1?

I would think an IEP would acknowledge anything over and above the "normal" that shoud be done for a child (in whatever year group) to enable them the greatest chance of meeting their potential.

Sometimes these are done with the SENCO only, other times there will be things on the IEP that outside agencies have suggested or requested.

Does that help?!! Hope so x

At my school we do AFA (achievement for all) which means that the bottom 20% of a cohort are identified ( from feb half term in reception) and IEPs are written with the class teacher and the parents and then interventions are put into place accordingly.

I would Think that IEPs for Y1 children would be very much prompted by their end of year EYFS profile scores. Obviously taking into account age, there will be children who are working within a lower age band than their years and that for me would prompt action.

I'm a reception teacher and I have to have all IEPs up and running and the process started well before the end of the year when they move up to Year 1 so that the next teacher can hit the ground running. Is that not the case with everyone?

Deb

I would think an IEP would acknowledge anything over and above the "normal" that shoud be done for a child (in whatever year group) to enable them the greatest chance of meeting their potential.

Sometimes these are done with the SENCO only, other times there will be things on the IEP that outside agencies have suggested or requested.

Does that help?!! Hope so x

exactly!

i'm nursery and have passed iep's on to teacher last week when we sat and discussed children. she'll use these as a starting point, then see what they are like when settled in.

At my school we do AFA (achievement for all) which means that the bottom 20% of a cohort are identified ( from feb half term in reception) and IEPs are written with the class teacher and the parents and then interventions are put into place accordingly.