Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Advice Please. Troublesome Member Of Staff

This is my first time posting a message. This is and excellent source of information and advice, which is exactly what I need right now. xD

Can anyone give advice regarding a member of staffs behaviour at the pre-school I work at. Since becoming employed in September last year within a month she breached confidentiality, resulting with an extremely upset parent. She uses bullying tactics to get her own way. Storms out of the room if we do not agree with all her ideas, we take on the good ideas and tell her so. Been verbally abusive towards me in front of other staff members, this was on a professional basis, then when the supervisor told her that she would have done the same thing (backed me up thankfully!) She then went into an emotional tirade on a personal level. There have been many many more instances.

Before Easter she told other members of staff that she saw a ghost of a child in the pre-school! Last but not least she threatened to smack her child who was exhibiting demanding behaviour. This happened when all the children except one (who she childminds) had left for the day. Please help as I am at the end of my tether. :o

Hi Angie

She sounds awful, im surprised the supervisor is putting up with it with her upsetting parents , staff and worst of all threatening children.

She should have a wtitten and verbal warning at the very least!!!

Check your policy on staff as in ours if there is a hint of mistreating the children it is an instant dismissal.

Hi Angie

Welcome to the site and thanks for making your first post.

What a terrible situation! It is always difficult when a member of staff doesn't fit in, but even more so in a situation such as this!