Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Water Tray

I am fairly new to reception class and having great fun with lots of different activities, although I do seem to run out of ideas for sand and water play. Have read the sand topic messages - lots of inspiration for sand play - thanks, can't wait to try them out, especially the socks! Does anyone have any ideas for water play. I have used the usual equipment, measuring with different containers, fishing for various objects and blowing bubbles - which was great fun. Also could you let me know how often you change the activities in the water tray - at the moment I tend to see how popular an activity is and perhaps have the same activity for 2 or 3 days. Thank you. Diane

:o

you can find the water topics here

and a short one here

this one was not well responded to, so maybe there are other ideas memebrs can add now that it has been brought back to our attentionand

You will find odd mentions to water in other topics too if you want to put 'water' into search.

hope that helps

:o

Thanks for the ideas, being a new user I didn't realise this topic had already been discussed (still finding my way around!). Looking forward to trying these out when we go back. Diane

• 3 weeks later...

We made our water tray into a pond for '5 Little Ducks.' We put in pebbles, dyed the water,a dn put in a bit of pond weed, then had a focussed activity in there on adding and subtracting. We left the resources in for the next couple of weeks, and the childrne really enjoyed returning and singing the song indep.

Hi Emma (Ihope!) and welcome. I don't think I've welcomed you in before although I can see you've made a few posts.

Thats a lovely idea. my children always sabotage any attempts to do those sorts of things. I wonder why? :o

Susan