Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nappy Changing And Emotional Needs

am interested in others views on childrens emotional needs during nappy changing. is this part of the day ever really thought about or is it seen as a 'job to be done?'

if a child protests is the nappy changed anyway or do you employ another type of strategy? and how do you approach the child to be changed? is it down to one person during the session or the keyperson?

am interested in children who are aged between 2 and a half to four years. researching into this as part of my Ba at Roehampton University so would welcome all your thoughts on this. thanks.

My personal opinion is that it is much a social time as any other part of the day. The children do not differentiate between 'learning' time and 'routine' time, so why should the adults?

As a former nursery nurse, I can understand how it becomes 'just a job that needs doing' as with a room full of toddlers it is a never ending stream of dirty nappies...

We used to do it on a rota basis so there would be one person on morning duty, one on lunchtime and one on afternoon, then anyone in between. Now I wouldn't even advocate this to any of the settings I support - I strongly believe that it is a key person role as each child likes having their nappy changed in a different way - some prefer the 'in and out' approach, whilst others like to be tickled, sung to and generally made a fuss of. Only the key person can truly know what each child likes after building up a relationship with the parents and that child.

A child shouldn't really protest if the key person is sensitive to the needs of the child, makes the experience into a fun and social time, allows them to take their favourite toy with them, knows that they are going to be returned to the playroom as quickly as possible and that it is in their best interests (and those of the staff :o ) to get their nappy changed.