Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Running

I am thinking about having a go at running - but am awful at it. I belong to a gym but am having to cancel my membership for a while until I know I've got a job to go to etc.

How do I get started at running? I have heard that for the first few weeks, you should only do a certain length of time, and alternate between running and walking. Can anyone enlighten me on this?

Also, what sort of trainers should I get, as the ones I have now are more for fashion that for running? I don't want to spend a lot of money incase I fail miserably!

Shelley I am by no means an expert, hopefully one will be along soon, but I run a couple of times a week sometimes more in the summer and I run for 3-4 miles, I find it therapeutic, my doctor advised it when I couldn't sleep and was a little low, it really works, all those endorphins really give me boost, I started with a couple of miles and sometimes I power walk and jog - I did buy some really good trainers and a good support bra is essential, well it was for me having breast-fed five children and lost all elasticity in that area!!!!

Edited by Guest

Why not ask advice from the instructors at the gym you belong to

befor you give your membership up

I am sure they will advise you

If not, my preschool is in a health club, I will ask tomorrow for you, the best way to start

shoes ect

Guest Wolfie

I'm also trying to get into this running lark - my daughter and I go together and we have started by doing so many steps walking followed by the same number of steps running...when I was in Girl Guides many moons ago I think it was called "Scout's Pace"! I hope that as time goes on we'll do more and more running steps and less and less walking steps - well, that's the theory anyway!! I find fast walking so much easier than actual running. Is power walking when you swing your arms a bit more?