Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Assignment Help!

Hi everyone,

Can anyone help me with my assignment please? I have to prepare a powerpoint presentation identifying barriers to effective learning within the setting (foundation unit) I also have to relate major theories of cognitive and intellectual development and consider the impact of motivation on children's learning. Can anyone point me in the right direction. I have never done a power point before, help!!!!!!!!!! :o

Hi Swoolhouse and welcome.

You need to work out the content that you wish to present first!

Powerpoints can be simple or more complicated although they are not something I make often so perhaps someone else will be along to help soon.

The Powerpoint help pages are very good. What I would do is if you are a complete novice maybe try using post-it notes first to do a basic plan of how many slides/basic content as this works well. The easiest thing is to make individual slides by clicking on 'new slide' icon/prompt and then if you go to 'view slide show' you can click on each slide to see your whole presentation. If you get more confident you can add sound effects, transition effects and so on...it's all about having a 'play'... hope this helps start you off!

Agree with Kermit, it's about 'active learning' on your part. The more you play with it the easier it will be. I personally always start with 'blank' pages but you can use templates within the programme which gives different layouts for your page.

Mundia has put some powerpoint presentations in the resource library ( and Kermit1 too)

Have a look at these for ideas of presentation.

http://www.foundation-stage.info/forums/in...amp;showfile=64

Why not have a practice run on something simple like 7 pages showing the days of the week. Practice text and picture presentations.