Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nqt In Need Of Guidance!

This is my first time, so not sure how this works!! I need help with literacy and PE.

Been observed by Head and she wants me to focus on letter formation in literacy. Any fun suggestions how I can do this? Been getting them to write in the air and playdo. But she wants them all to be forming letters correctly by the end of reception. Plus, only just introduced their sightwords and need fun suggestions to do with them during the day. :)

Also, don't feel I'm getting the best out of my children when it comes to PE lessons, so any suggestions about that would be great.

hi and welcome

We do A3 sized 'rainbow letters' for formation practice once the children are ready ......an outline of the letter with starting point marked and a direction arrow. the children write the letter inside the outline using as many colours as they can fit in.

We also use something called Write dance which is a programme for helping children to write but could be a PE activity done to music.

Have you seen Action Words? They are a similar idea to JP but for whole words with actions to match each of the HFWs so are a bit more fun

Guest tinkerbell

Hi Caroline

Welcome to the site.

Children could form letters in sand tray,someone recently suggested having holographic paper under the sand which I have yet to try but sounds like fun!Shaving foam,chalking on blackboards outside is popular with my Reception children.THe interactive whiteboard is always popular,we have just shown them the devise on smart where once you have written a word by tapping on the word it comes up with options, if thier writing is recognisable you tap again and their handwriting changes to text...magic.

I have made a dry wipe board for each child with their own name and a dot where to start for correct formation.

have fun

Tinkerbellx

Hi Caroline,

Welcome to the Forum :)