Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Initial Assessment

Guest Emily

Guest Emily

I work in a school with a 52 place Nursery class (where we take in children in the term after they are 3). We want to complete an initial assessment of the children in both maths and literacy when they start at nursey so we can track their progress and show value added when they leave the foundation stage. Does anyone have any ideas what i can use? I have looked at the stepping stones and could adapt them and the P scales but i would rather used a tried and tested format if one exists. :)

Your initial assessments can all be made from observations of the children whilst at play. I would have thought anything formal would be inappropriate and may have a detrimental effect on their confidence. Nothing worse than being asked a lot of questions by someone you don't know very well when you'd rather be making friends in the home corner. Even the Educational Psychologists I work with no longer use formal testing for their assessments with the under 5's.

The P scales are not ment to be used with the foundation stage, they are for special needs working in Key stage one. If you investigate this site further there has been some previous discussions about this. We are able to show value added through written observations, we also keep a portfolio of drawings and photographic evidence on each child.

I was wondering why you felt you had to make such formal assessments at this stage? Will you be doing the same for PSED?

Like Mimi I think you need to make observations of what the children are doing whilst they are playing, you will learn a lot from that and then you can look at where they are on the stepping stones.

Linda

Hi Emily, welcome in & glad you've found us!

I' m not sure that I can give you any specific pointers but as a teacher in Reception being asked to use the profile inappropriately for similar reasons, to show value added, I understand your dilemma.