Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning

Hi has any one any ideas on planning,our topic this month is senses, i am new to this so any ideas would be great. thanks

Hi Lily

Just a couple of ideas for Senses. We went on a sound walk. Each child had a sheet with pictures of a lorry, cat, dog, bird, car, people etc and the children had to listen and tick any item they heard. For sight we looked at a kaleidoscope then used a kitchen roll tube to play i-spy.

Hope this helps.

Anita

We had senses as our theme a few terms ago.

One of the things we did was to put different smelling foods into paper cups which we covered with kitchen paper. We made a litle hole in the paper and got the children to smell the pot.

Children were asked if they could identify the smell and/or if they liked the smell.

We continued this later by having the same foods available for tasting.

Off the top of my head we used lemon, garlic, oranges and cheese. (Allergy aware at all times).

We created a graph which we ticked for tastes we liked

Most of the children tried most of the foods.

How about a smelly tree? a small branch, some bits of cotton squares, they can put things in them before hanging it on the tree. Our children put herbs, cheese, spice, aftershave... the list is endless.

For taste we blindfolded a child during carpet time and got them to hold their nose, we then placed an 'opal fruit/starbrust' in their mouth and asked what they could taste..nothing... they can not taste the sweet until they let go of their nose and then they get the full taste very quickly. Our children love it.

Smelly paint... just add a few drops of cooking flavour into the paint, the sand tray, water tray.

Add sand to the paint to add texture. Get them to paint with blindfolds on, with the paint brush in their mouths. Spice pictures, you just need paper, glue and spices.